D K Suresh sole Congress face in saffron city

Bengaluru: Water Resources Minister D.K. Shivakuamr's younger brother D.K. Suresh of the Congress won from Bangalore Rural by over two lakh votes by defeating the nearest rival Ashwathnarayan Gowda of the BJP.

Mr Suresh, the sitting MP from the constituency, led from round one of counting and registered a thumping victory.

The constituency seat in the state went to polls on April 18. The constituency came into existence after the delimitation in 2008. Since then, the Congress has secured the seat twice, while Chief Minister H. D. Kumaraswamy of the Janata Dal Secular (JDS) once in the 2009 Lok Sabha elections. The total number of electorate in the constituency is 19,04,135, of which 9,92,687 are men and 9,11,448 are women.

In 2014, Mr Suresh had won by a margin of 2,31,480 or 51.9 per cent of votes polled.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP had secured 17 seats, the Congress managed nine, while the JD(S) had to settle with just two seats.

Disclaimer : Mytimesnow (MTN) lets you explore worldwide viral news just by analyzing social media trends. Tap read more at source for full news. The inclusion of any links does not necessarily imply any endorsement of the views expressed within them.