NIA files chargesheet in Andhra politicos killing case at Vijayawada

Hyderabad: In the case of the killing of Araku MLA Kidari Sarveshwara Rao and ex-MLA Siveri Soma, the National Investigation Agency, Hyderabad, has filed a chargesheet before a special court at Vijayawada on Wednesday.

The NIA has named seven persons including four absconding persons who work for the CPI (Maoist) party and said that several members of Andhra Odisha Border Special Zonal Committee (AOB SZC) and Koraput division were present during the killings.

It had registered a case into the killings of Sarveshwara and Soma on December 6, 2018, following orders from the Ministry Of Home Affairs. The case was initially registered at Dumbriguda police station in Visakhapatnam district of AP on September 23, 2018, following the incident.

Sarveshwara and Soma were on the way to Grama Darshini program at Sarai village where their vehicles were intercepted by left-wing extremists near Livitiputtu village.

The duo was shot dead by a group of Maoist cadres. The case was given to the Special Investigation Team constituted by the Andhra Pradesh government for the probe.

The SIT had arrested Yedala Subba Rao, Gemmili Sobhan, Yedala Eswari and Korra Kamala on October 13, 2018. During the investigation, the NIA arrested two more persons Vanthala Dharmayya and Damburu Khillo in January and February respectively.

The NIA officials said, “Investigation established that the arrested accused persons were strong sympathisers of CPI (Maoist) organisation. They conspired with the cadres of the organisation and facilitated its members in the murder of Araku MLA Sarveshwara Rao and ex-MLA Soma. The arrested persons had shared information of the Grama Darshini programme and movements of the politicians to the Maoist cadres. They also extended logistic support.”

The premier agency has filed a chargesheet before the Special Court for NIA cases at Vijayawada, naming seven persons as the accused. The arrested persons Subba Rao, Sobhan, Kamala, along with absconding accused Maoist cadres Venkata Ravi Chaitanya alias Aruna, Jalumuri Srinu Babu alias Raino, Kameswari alias Chandrika and Jappirayingi Satti Babu, under sections 120B, 147, 148, 149, 302 and 396 of IPC, sections 4 and 5 of the Explosive Substances Act, sections 25 (1A) and 27 of the Indian Arms Act, and also under Sections 16, 18, 19, 20, 38 and 39 of Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act.  

“The probe also revealed that the members of CPI (Maoist) organization and absconding underground Maoists AOB SZC member Chaitanya, Korapur divisional committee members  Srinu Babu and Kameswari and other Maoist cadres were also present at the place of incident and actively involved in the killing of the politicians,” said the NIA officials adding that further probe is on against the other accused.

Disclaimer : Mytimesnow (MTN) lets you explore worldwide viral news just by analyzing social media trends. Tap read more at source for full news. The inclusion of any links does not necessarily imply any endorsement of the views expressed within them.