Jr national aquatic championship: Srihari sets new mark; Karnataka dominate

Bengaluru: Karnataka picked up where they left off to rule the pool on Day Two of the junior national aquatic championship, clinching 13 gold, 13 silver and 10 bronze medals to sit atop the medals tally. 

Maharashtra remain a distant second with seven gold, five silver and six bronze medals at the event being held in Pune.

Karnataka swimmers also claimed three of the six new meet records set on Tuesday. Srihari Natraj continued his impressive show in the pool with a gold and national record in the 200m back stroke event (Group I). The Karnataka swimmer clocked 2:04.11s to shatter Aravind M’s record of 2:11.30s.

The other two records for the state came in the 4x100 medley relay event with the Karnataka quartet stopping the clock at 4:01.31s in Group I and 4:14.69s in Group II to better their own previous records of 4:04.56s and 4:19.65s respectively.

The other individual records went to Gujarat’s Aryan Nehra (16:49.50s, 1500m freestyle, Group II), Maharashtra’s Aaryan Bhosale (2:11.97s, 200b back stroke, Group II) and Bengal’ Swadesh Mondal (2:15.28s, 200 IM, Group II).In addition, Rahul M (200m freestyle), Tanish George (200m freestyle), Ridhi Bohra (100m breast stroke) and Khushi Dinesh (400m freestyle) won gold medals for the state. Litheesh Gowda (100 breast stroke), Saloni Dalal (100m breast stroke), Suvana Baskar (200m back stroke) and Rachana Rao (100m breast stroke) won silver while Manav Dileep (100m breast stroke), Siva S (400m IM), Jhanti Rajesh (200m back stroke, 200m IM), Poojitha Murthy (400m freestyle) and Shania Siromani  (100m breast stroke) took bronze.Results: Boys: Group I: 200M FS: 1. Rahul M 1:56.25s; 200M BS: 1. Srihari Natraj 2:04.11s (NMR; Old: 2:11.30s, Aravind Mani, Kar, 2013); 100M BR: 3. Manav Dileep 1:08.22s; 200M IM: 3. Siva S 2:14.43s; 4x100M medley relay: 1. Karnataka 4:01.31s (NMR; Old: 4:04.56, Karnataka, 2013).Group II: 200M FS: 1. Tanish George 2:01.46s; 100M BR: 2. Litheesh Gowda (Kar) 1:12.73; 4x100M medley relay: 1. Karnataka 4:14.69s (NMR; Old: 4:19.65s, Karnataka, 2016).Girls: Group I: 200M BS: 3. Jhanati Rajesh 2:30.27s; 100M BR: 1. Riddhi Bohra 1:16.67s; 2. Saloni Dalal 1:16.90s; 200M IM: 2. Avani Tantry 2:31.73s; 3. Jhanati Rajesh 2:33.55s.Group II: 200M BS: 2. Suvana Baskar 2:31.19s; 400M FS: 1. Khushi Dinesh 4:41.73s; 3. Poojitha Murthy 4:50.91s; 100M BR: 2. Rachana Rao 1:19.65s; 3. Shania Siromani 1:21.43s.

Disclaimer : Mytimesnow (MTN) lets you explore worldwide viral news just by analyzing social media trends. Tap read more at source for full news. The inclusion of any links does not necessarily imply any endorsement of the views expressed within them.