LIVE| Aus vs Ind 1st ODI: Rohit scores ton as Karthik departs

Sydney: With the required-run rate soaring high, India find themselves in a spot of bother with four wickets down. MS Dhoni was the latest man to depart after falling victim to Jason Behrendroff as it remains to be seen if Dinesh Karthik and Rohit Sharma can bail India out of trouble.

India 144-4 after 33 overs:

LBW! The umpire raises his finger as Jason Behrendorff gets the big fish. Aimed full at the stumps, MS Dhoni is struck right in front after missing the flick. No reviews left for India and he departs.

India are out of reviews and Dhoni has to go... #CloseMatters#AUSvIND | @GilletteAU

— (@cricketcomau) January 12, 2019

India 140-3 after 32 overs:

FIFTY! After bringing up 10,000 ODI runs for India, MS Dhoni has cashed in with a gritty half-century. Can he manage to steer India across the finish line?

India 95-3 after 23.5 overs

FIFTY! Rohit Sharma gets to his 38th ODI fifty. Will this be a match-winning effort?

India 4-3 after 3.5 overs

WICKET! Richardson does the damage again, removes Ambati Rayudu .

India 4-2 after 3.3 overs

WICKET! Jhye Richardson strikes as he sees off big man Virat Kohli for three runs, who is caught by Marcus Stoinis at square leg.

India 1-1 after 1 over

WICKET! An early blow for the visitors as Shikhar Dhawan is struck lbw by Jason Behrendorff. Dhawan is back to the pavilion without scoring any run.

Australia innings

Fifties from Usman Khawaja (59), Shaun Marsh (54) and Peter Handscomb (73) guided Australia to 288-5 in the first ODI against India here on Saturday.

Innings Break!Half centuries from Khawaja, Shaun Marsh and Handscomb have guided Australia to a total of 288/5.Will #TeamIndia chase this down?Updates - #AUSvIND

— BCCI (@BCCI) January 12, 2019

The hosts lost captain Aaron Finch early with Bhuvneshwar Kumar striking early.

Alex Carey (24) too played a cameo role before he was dismissed by Kuldeep Yadav.

Despite a strong fight by the Indian bowlers,  the Aussies added 59 more runs in the last five overs, thanks to an unbeaten 47 by Marcus Stoinis and Glenn Maxwell, who remained unbeaten on 11 runs.  

Kuldeep finished with a spell of 2/54 whereas Ravindra Jadeja had figures of 1/48.  

Bhuvneshwar, too, got a couple of wickets as he signed off with a spell of 2/66 from 10 overs.

Australia 254-5 after 47.2 overs

WICKET! Dhawan completes the catch at sweeper cover as Bhuvneshwar removes Handscomb for 73 runs.

Australia 186-4 after 37.3 overs

WICKET! Kuldeep gets his second as Shami completes the catch at long on to see off Shaun Marsh for 54.

Australia 133-3 after 28.2 overs

WICKET! Khawaja departs for 59 as he is struck leg before wicket with Ravindra Jadeja celebrating the breakthrough wicket.

Jadeja with the important breakthrough. Picks up the wicket of Usman Khawaja.Australia 145/3 after 31 overs #AUSvIND

— BCCI (@BCCI) January 12, 2019

Australia 117-2 after 25.2 overs

FIFTY! Usman Khawaja brings up his fifth ODI fifty!

FIFTY! Khawaja brings up his half-century off 70 balls - his fifth in ODI cricket and first on Aussie soil! #AUSvIND

— (@cricketcomau) January 12, 2019

Australia 41-2 after 9.5 overs

WICKET! Alex Carey's cameo comes to an end as Rohit Sharma takes a comfortable catch at first slip. Carey dismissed for 24 runs.

It took four deliveries for @imkuldeep18 to get his first wicket in the game.Follow the game here - #AUSvIND

— BCCI (@BCCI) January 12, 2019

Australia 8-1 after 2.2 overs

BOWLED'EM! Bhuvneshwar Kumar gets his 100th ODI wicket in style as captain Aaron Finch is seen off for just six runs.

Toss update

Australia won the toss and elected to bat.

Australia win the toss and elected to BAT #AUSvIND

— (@cricketcomau) January 12, 2019

Australia XI: Aaron Finch (c), Alex Carey (wk), Shaun Marsh, Usman Khawaja, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Nathan Lyon, Peter Siddle, Jason Behrendorff #AUSvIND

— (@cricketcomau) January 12, 2019

India XI: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (c), Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed #AUSvIND

— (@cricketcomau) January 12, 2019


Hosts Australia will look to recover from their Test series loss to India when Aaron Finch’s men take on Virat Kohli and co in the first of the three ODIs at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) here on Saturday.

While the hosts will continue to miss the services of Steve Smith and David Warner due to their ball-tampering ban, the Men in Blue have been given a huge blow after Hardik Pandya and KL Rahul were suspended for the series after making an inappropriate comment during ‘Koffee with Karan’, a chat show.

The duo were on Friday suspended pending an inquiry into their outrage-evoking comments on women during a TV show, and will be sent back home from Australia.

The cricketers, who have been in the eye of a storm following their sexist remarks on the show hosted by filmmaker Karan Johar, will be sent back on the first available flight.

 They were omitted from the line-up for the opening match in Sydney but now it seems they won't be in the mix even for the limited-overs tour of New Zealand, beginning January 23.

Rahul was unlikely to get a go owing to both his poor form and the presence of a well-settled opening pair in Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan.

Meanwhile, Pandya's absence could mean that India might have to rejig their bowling attack. Jasprit Bumrah has already been rested for this series, as well as the tour of New Zealand, and this allows the think-tank to conduct one final experimentation with their bowling attack.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar is a shoe-in, and thereafter it depends if Kohli wants to go in with a three-man pace attack to compensate for Pandya's loss.


India: Virat Kohli(Captain), Rohit Sharma, Lokesh Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu,  Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja, Dinesh Karthik, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, j, K Khaleel Ahmed, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj.

Australia: Aaron Finch(Captain), Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, , Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Marsh, Alex Carey, Glenn Maxwell,  Billy Stanlake, Jason Behrendorff, Peter Siddle, Nathan Lyon, Adam Zampa, Jhye Richardson, Ashton Turner.

Where to watch the matches live?

Live telecast: The matches can be seen live on Sony Six (English commentary) and Sony Ten 3 (Hindi commentary).

Live streaming: It can also be streamed live on Sony LIV, the digital platform on the internet.

Update Here

Disclaimer : Mytimesnow (MTN) lets you explore worldwide viral news just by analyzing social media trends. Tap read more at source for full news. The inclusion of any links does not necessarily imply any endorsement of the views expressed within them.