Bengaluru: 4 police officers violate poll code, shunted out

Bengaluru: Based on the report of IGP Roopa D. Moudgil, the state police department has transferred four middle level officials for violating the model of code of conduct and for favouring a particular political party.

Mr Raviprasad P, ACP Yashwanthpur sub-division has been transferred to CID while three inspectors, Shivareddy V. (Janabharathi Police Station) Srinivasa P.T. (Peenya Police Station) Mudduraj Y. (Yashwanthpur Police Station) have been transferred to the state Intelligence, CID and ISD respectively.

Following complaints lodged by the BJP, chief electoral officer, Sanjeev Kumar ordered an inquiry by regional commissioner,  Shivayogi Kalasad and IGP Roopa D. Moudgil.

Sources in the government said that the inquiry conducted by Roopa Moudgil reportedly recommended the transfer of the officials immediately.

The inquiry revealed that Mr Raviprasad while working as ACP Yashwanthpur and Mr Srinivas, as inspector, Peenya, failed to arrest the accused in a case because he belongs to a particular political party. In 2018, Mr Raviprasad had filed a case against a BJP worker however, he did not accept a complaint given by the BJP worker, said sources.

On the pretext of maintaining law and order, officers  often accompany the candidates of political parties which in turn, influences voters because of their presence in uniform, added the sources while explaining the transfers.

Keep yourself updated on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 with our round-the-clock coverage -- breaking news, updates, analyses et all. Happy reading.

Disclaimer : Mytimesnow (MTN) lets you explore worldwide viral news just by analyzing social media trends. Tap read more at source for full news. The inclusion of any links does not necessarily imply any endorsement of the views expressed within them.