DY Patil T20 Cup: Saurabh Tiwary helps Reliance 1 defend title

Saurabh Tiwary 

Reliance 1, riding on skipper Saurabh Tiwary's tremendous unbeaten 112, successfully defended the title at the 14th DY Patil T20 Cup here today. In the final, Reliance 1 defeated BPCL by 25 runs. Tiwary's blitzkrieg ensured that Reliance 1 posted a mammoth 185-6 in their 20 overs. His 112 came off 63 balls with five boundaries and eight sixes. He shepherded the innings despite regular fall of wickets. Wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant fell early, but Tiwary took charge. He aligned himself very well with Akshdeep Nath (23) and Nikhil Naik (19).

For BPCL ,Rishi Arothe ( 2-34 ) was the pick of the bowlers. In their response, the BPCL chase never really got going. Despite handy knocks by senior pro Abhishek Nayar (43) and India player Shreyas Iyer (35), the chase failed against some accurate bowling. India U19 World Cup star Anukul Roy, with a spell of 3-29, and his U19 teammate Kamlesh Nagarkoti (4-28) helped Reliance 1 defend the title. BPCL ended at 160-9 thanks largely to Shivam Dubey's late charge of unbeaten 40. Earlier in the semi-finals, BPCL prevailed over CAG in a high-scoring contest. And Reliance 1 beat DY Patil Sports 'B' in the other semi-final at the DY Patil Stadium.

Catch up on all the latest sports news and updates here. Also download the new mid-day Android and iOS apps to get latest updates

This story has been sourced from a third party syndicated feed, agencies. Mid-day accepts no responsibility or liability for its dependability, trustworthiness, reliability and data of the text. Mid-day management/mid-day.com reserves the sole right to alter, delete or remove (without notice) the content in its absolute discretion for any reason whatsoever

Disclaimer : Mytimesnow (MTN) lets you explore worldwide viral news just by analyzing social media trends. Tap read more at source for full news. The inclusion of any links does not necessarily imply any endorsement of the views expressed within them.